Hospital Board

2017 WCRC Facility Board Members

Health Facility Boards have become a key communication medium to enable direct interaction between the public and management of health facilities in order to resolve specific operational ailments. The Western Cape Health Facility Boards Act was introduced in 2001 by the Western Cape Minister of Health to ensure that management of all public health facilities are accountable to, and have the support of, their communities and manage their resources responsibly and effectively. The Western Cape Rehabilitation Centre, which provides specialised, multi-disciplinary rehabilitation programmes for persons with physical disabilities, recently appointed a new Health Facility Board. According to Jenny Hendry, Chief Executive Officer of the Western Cape Rehabilitation Centre the Health Facility Board structure requires clinical, non-clinical and academic representation.

The Minister of Health, Minister Pierre Uys appointed the following Hospital Board members for a 3-year period (2010 - 2013):

Persons representing Community Organisations:

Mr Anthony Ghillino (Chairperson: QuadPara Association, Western Cape)
Mrs Kath Green (Cape Women's Agricultural Association and a the treasurer of the ex-Conradie Benevolent Association)

Persons with Expertise:

Mr JP Lugt (Person with expertise: Quadriplegic entrepreneur & businessman)
Ms Lucia Hess-April (Representing academia and Senior Lecturer, Dept. of
Occupational Therapy, UWC)
Mr Martin Petersen: Lawyer (partner in the firm Lowe and Petersen)
Mr Msizi Cele: Entrepreneur (Executive Chairman of the Magaye Group - involved with social issues).
Mr Harry Bell : Businessman working at Investec
Wentzel Barnard : Sports Administrator at Stellenbosch University 

Persons representing WCRC:

Ms J Hendry (Head of the Institution)
Mrs T Mc Kee  (representing Clinical staff)
Mr J van Rooyen (representing non-clinical staff)

Lucia Hess-April has been elected as the chairperson for the WCRC facility Board in 2011, whilst Martin Skovgaard-Petersen will act as vice-chair.

The Facility Board meets every second month at WCRC. A Financial
Committee consisting of  Kath Green, JP Lugt, Jim van Rooyen, Elize Eksteen and Jorietha Kloppers was formed in order to assess and recommend financial requests to the Board prior to meetings.

The members act as chairpersons for various steering committees and projects:
Mr Cele: Media & Communication Sub-committee
Ms Hess-April: Health and Wellness Centre
Mr Barnard: Weekend activities
Mrs Green: Social assistance
Mr Ghillino: Wheelchair Races
Mr Lugt: Facility improvement

The Facility Board has agreements with two individual fundraisers:

Jacques Lloyd
Elsje Scheffler

Msizi Cele - Board Member

Anthony Ghillino - Board Member

JP Lugt - Board Member

Harry Bell - Board Member

Martin Skovgaard-Petersen - Board Member

Kath Green - Board Member

Designed and developed by World Wide Creative | Copyright 2007